Indoor season is upon us!

Capital Challenge is two days away, beginning the wonderful time of year known as “indoors”. I wish my computer wasn’t such a piece of garbage, because I would be watching the live feed all day if I could. Especially because this year I know several people who qualified for them, all juniors, but exciting none the less. 

I also believe that indoors levels the playing field a bit. I have seen a horse that trucked around show to show beginning at WEF, winning everything, turn into a completely different horse in an indoor. Indoors are scary, and when you add in no schooling except for hacking, and then put them in a ring with jumps that are closer together and big, the situation changes. So good luck to all who qualified and remember inside leg and look forward! It’s not your horse’s job to focus, it’s your job to ride them through the spook and redirect their attention on the job at hand. And if you have a crappy trip, and don’t thank your horse for not killing you in that ring and for trying their best with what you give them, you just dropped a few notches in my book (please know I feel this way about all show people, indoors and outdoors. Horses are animals and we can’t expect them to be perfect all the time. Especially if we fail to remember how to ride them the right way to enable them to have a successful trip). 

 The big equitation finals are coming as well, regionals are done and the top of each heap are moving on to the next steps. It feels like a trend right now. Ever since Animal Planet’s show about it. So good luck to all who made it. I can’t wait to see how everyone does. 

I hope that the Washington International HS is bigger than it was last year, because it felt like a lot of people skipped it. I would like to see it stay big because I like to see the competition in different arenas and how they do with the change. Fingers crossed. 

And Zone 2 finals are always exciting. Zone 2 is so competitive, so to be able to watch the most competitive people in this giant zone gather together to compete against one another is fun. This is a day I could spend every waking moment watching every horse go around the ring. I’m an admitted horseshow geek. I am also taking of my best friends this year to experience it because she’s never been a she knows a few of the many people I do, who are showing. She makes fun of me and my love of tradition in the show ring. So I can’t wait see her eyes bug out of her head at the hair nets, fake tails, braids, and muted show coats. Don’t get me wrong, I love her despite her obsession with newmarket, orange tack and the mess of hair that hangs out of her helmet when she rides. And she loves me despite my loathing of her newmarket orangy tack and my need to even do a 10 minute hack with a hairnet and clean half chaps. I’m just excited to expose her to this level of showing. She doesn’t have to show in it, but she knows so many people who take part in it, it’s time for her to learn and understand why things are done the way they are. I love to teach, I love to share, I love to point out why horse A is going to win the hack today because of how the judge has been pinning or because of how the horse is moving. LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

It’s a baby free zone day, and I’m taking advantage of it. I dont think she knows what she’s in for. 

Leave a Reply

